My first quarter of Humanities Core has definitely been worthwhile. From the past 10 weeks alone, I have gained insightful information on the Roman Empire, I have argued for and against Rousseau’s discourses, and I have discussed how images of ruins relates to an empire. Some lectures and discussions have actually both changed and strengthened my opinions on certain topics.

51yzn2bt8sjl-_sl500_sx334_bo1204203200_

I grew up in a very strict and religious household. I went to church almost every Sunday and I attended a private Christian school from elementary school to middle school. During my stay there, I was taught the Christian perspective of history. One of the few things I remember learning in class was the story of the Pilgrims’ founding of Plymouth Colony. From class teachings, I remember learning about William Bradford and how he befriended the Native Americans. I was taught that It was his duty to go to the New World and teach the Native Americans about his God. And that was the first instance I was introduced to the concept of Manifest Destiny. They never called it Manifest Destiny in elementary school; it had a different name.

The more that I think about my time in private school the more disturbed I become about how biased the curriculum was. It upsets me to know that I was taught to view the “other” people as lesser than me solely because their lifestyle and religion was different than mine. One of the things I love about HumCore is the opportunity to read and learn from the “other” side.

Who writes history?

The winner always does. However, it is our job to make sure the “losers” are not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

